Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’m not going to go into great detail about the drama that was the America’s Cup in San Francisco last week, as it has been covered quite well in the media. What I am going to do is share with you some of the shots that I got during the last eight days of racing between Emirates Team New Zealand and defending champion, Oracle Team USA. I’ve also included a few of the images that I took during the America’s Cup World Series races on San Francisco Bay in 2012. The first four shots are of the smaller AC45 boats used during the ACWS races and the rest is the AC72 catamarans of ETNZ and OTUSA as they battle on San Francisco Bay for the Auld Mug.

I used both a Canon 40D and a Canon 6D to take the shots, along with a Canon EF 70-200mm f/4.0L lens – most of the time coupled with a Canon 1.4x Extender.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageI’ve already seen in the local news that San Francisco Mayor Ed Lee has said that he is looking forward to the next America’s Cup and is obviously hoping that Larry Ellison will again pick San Francisco as the venue for the 35th America’s Cup. I hope he does as well, as I’ll be there with camera in hand to get more fabulous shots to share with you.