Tags

, , , , , ,

Today was the final flight for the Space Shuttle Endeavour (OV-105). While it is a fairly short distance from Edwards Air Force Base (KEDW) to Los Angeles International Airport (KLAX), today’s flight took a more meandering route. It’s journey took it north from Edwards to Sacramento and a fly-by of the California State Capitol. From there, it went westward towards San Francisco Bay for two passes by the Golden Gate Bridge and then for a low pass at Moffett Field (KNUQ), which is my old stomping grounds. After a low pass at Moffett Field, it finally headed south and landed later in the morning at LAX.

I’ve posted a couple of shots below that I took this morning and will have some fabulous close-up shots posted next week after I get the film developed. Film you say…yes, film I say. I still shoot a lot of film (mostly medium and large format) and decided that since the Endeavour is back from the pre-digital days, I thought that it was only fitting that I load a roll of Kodak Ektar 100 into my Canon EOS-1N HS and fire away at the six frames per second that it is capable of. I opted to put my long lens on the 1N and that is why the close-up shots will have to wait until I get the film back from the lab.

Until then, enjoy these couple of shots below…Doug

Endeavour and The Rock – Camera: Canon EOS 40D – Lens: Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro @40mm – Exposure: 1/1600 sec @ f/5.6 ISO 100

Endeavour Over San Francisco Bay – Camera: Canon EOS 350D – Lens: Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 – Exposure: 1/1250 sec @ f/5.0 ISO 100

