Tags

, , , , , , ,

As previous readers know, I recently started volunteering my time and skills as a photographer to a dog rescue organization, The Dog Shack. I’ve done two sessions with them so far and the results have been amazing, with several of the dogs being adopted almost immediately after having quality photographs of them posted to several websites that The Dog Shack utilizes. I’ll be doing another shoot for them next week and am looking forward to getting some great shots of some great dogs.

This leads me to another dog based program that I have now signed up to volunteer my services as a photographer to….Canine Companions for Independence. CCI is the largest provider of service dogs and provides the dogs free of charge, while operating solely on donations from individual and corporate sponsors. I have a friend that is a volunteer dog breeder for CCI and I have gotten some very cute shot of the puppies of the last two litters that the momma dog, Celine, has given birth to.

I’m not certain how often CCI will be calling on me for my services, but I am quite proud to be associated with an organization that does so much good in the world. Although, I did mention to the volunteer coordinator that there is probably more times that they could use my skills than what they realize. I’ll be attending an orientation at CCI Headquarters on March 6th, and will hopefully be able to start working on some projects with them shortly thereafter. I will be certain to share with you any great shots that I get from my work with CCI.

For now, I will leave you with a few shots of some of the wonderful puppies destined for training with Canine Companions for Independence.

Cuteness Overload No.1 – Here we see one of the puppies from Celine’s fourth litter at the ripe old age of four days old. – Camera: Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT (350D) – Lens: Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro @46mm – Exposure: 1/30 Second @ f/4.5 ISO400

Cuteness Times Three! – Here are three from Celine’s fourth liter, now a whole sixteen days old. – Camera: Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT (350D) – Lens: Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro @26mm – Exposure: 1/100 Second @ f/2.8 ISO100 – Lighting: Canon 430EX camera mounted with custom light modifier

All The Toys Are Mine! – Two of the puppies from her third litter at six weeks of age. – Camera: Canon EOS 40D – Lens: Canon EF 70-200mm f/4.0L USM @84mm – Exposure: 1/400 sec @ f/4 ISO 400 – Lighting: Canon 430EX at -1 with custom light modifier for fill

The Canine Sleeper Hold! – Here we see Hula, at six months of age playing with one of her younger siblings that is six weeks of age. – Camera: Canon EOS 40D – Lens: Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro @50mm – Exposure: 1/200 sec @ f/4 ISO 100 – Lighting: Canon 430EX at -1 with custom light modifier for fill

Celine – The momma dog to all of the wonderful puppies. After her fifth litter, she will be spayed and adopted out to a loving family. – Camera: Canon EOS 40D – Lens: Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro @50mm – Exposure: 1/25 sec @ f/3.5 ISO 800 – Lighting: Canon 430EX at -1 with custom light modifier

